Tag Archives: key

2019 Practice Schedule

We will have practice just a few weeks this year, on Tuesday evenings. Please be dressed and rigging on the front of the dock by the start of practice. You will get more out of each practice by reading the briefing each week before coming to practice.

  • Practice 1 – Tuesday, May 28 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 2 – Tuesday, June 18 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 3 – Tuesday, July 2 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 4 – Tuesday, July 16 18:00-20:00

2018 Practice Schedule

We will practice every-other week on Tuesday evenings. Please be rigged and ready at the Longfellow dock by 18:00 hours. You will get more out of each practice by reading the briefing each week before coming to practice. We have two preseason chalk-talks (on land) scheduled, which will be valuable prep for our weekly practices.

  • Chalk Talk 1 – Tuesday, April 17 18:30-20:00
  • Chalk Talk 2 – Tuesday, May 1 18:30-20:00
  • Practice 1 – Tuesday, May 15 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 2 – Tuesday, May 29 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 3 – Tuesday, June 12 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 4 – Tuesday, June 26 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 5 – Tuesday, July 10 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 6 – Tuesday, July 24 POSTPONED
  • Practice 6 (rescheduled) – Tuesday July 31 18:00-20:00
  • Practice 7 – Tuesday, August 7 CANCELLED
  • Chalk Talk 3 – Tuesday, August 28 18:30-20:00

2018 Race Practice Ideas

Hey Tiller Club and CBI Racers,

This is an ongoing post over the winter to list ideas for what to practice this summer. Our first two practices will be chalk talks, so we want ideas for those, and also ideas for on-water drills or items to practice.

Here are a few I’ve heard already:

  1. review drills we’ll be doing this summer
  2. diagram options for how to get to a start at different points of the line
  3. when to reach vs run on the downwind leg — downwind tactics and strategy
  4. leeward mark roundings — get inside or wait, stopping downwind
  5. starting talk — port approach (Cole to teach)
  6. starting talk — slowing (not just slowing your approach to the line but actually slowing), when (skewed line) and how (approach more vertical, mostly stalled)
  7. starting drills — on the line, hold the mark, bow up/down
  8. steering talk — rudderless sailing (sails, weight)
  9. tack/gybe on whistle
  10. blindfold sailing
  11. rudderless sailing
  12. follow the leader
  13. rabbit starts (talk and practice)
  14. Ultimate sailing and Sumo sailing
  15. Team racing talk?
  16. From Janne: light wind and heavy wind specialties

I think I need a white-board to notify some of these drills on the water. And I selfishly definitely want to do some team racing.

How To Use This Space

This blog will be used by the volunteer coaches to help brief sailors before each practice, and to debrief them afterwards. We may also be able to post videos and other tutorials here. More to come as the blog evolves!